186th RSA Annual Exhibition 2012: Including the Artist's Studio

Upper and Lower Galleries


For a 360° panorama of the show click here.


Now in it's 186th year, the RSA Annual Exhibition is a highlight of the exhibiting year and features RSA Academicians and selected submissions from leading and emerging artists from across Scotland, as well as a number of specially invited artists and architects. This year's convenors are Doug Cocker RSA and James Castle RSA (acting as joint convenors) and Ric Russell RSA (Elect) as deputy convener.


The theme of this year's show is The Artist's Studio and features twenty-two invited artists selected by the convenors from the RSA membership, the broader Scottish arts community and beyond. Invited artists will present a significant body of work to the exhibition, utilising key areas in the gallery space. Non-invited RSA members are invited to submit up to four works via an open submission policy. Works by the winners of RSA Morton, Barns Graham and Littlejohn awards will also be on display, plus further curated works from the RSA Collections.


The exhibition will be accompanied by a full colour publication and most works will be available for purchase. The RSA is part of the Own Art scheme, offering interest-free credit to buy contemporary art.


Invited Artists: Michael Agnew RSA | Mary Bourne RSA | James Castle RSA | Annie Cattrell | Doug Cocker RSA | Bill Crozier | Steve Dilworth | Lennox Dunbar | Paul Furneaux RSA | Neville Gabie | Neil Gall | Derrick Guild RSA | Gwen Hardie | Ian Howard RSA | Rosalind Lawless | Patricia Leighton | Stuart McKenzie | Bill Scott PPRSA | Michael Visocchi RSA | Arthur Watson RSA | Kate Whiteford RSA | Aeneas Wilder


Invited Architects: Eighty Seven Ltd | Fergus Purdie | Gokay Devici | Kengo Kuma | MJ Long | Neil Gillespie | Olsen Kundig | Steven Holl


The exhibition will also present new works by three RSA award winners from the last year. Paul Rooney will present new works for the exhibition as part of the RSA Morton Award. Aleksandra Zawada, RSA Barns-Graham Travel Award winner and Paul Westcombe, winner of the RSA William Littlejohn Watercolour Award will also exhibit new work.


The Royal Scottish Academy would like to gratefully acknowledge all of our sponsors and supporters of the RSA Annual Exhibition


Principal Sponsor: Turcan Connell
The exhibition of is kindly sponsored by Turcan Connell. Turcan Connell is a firm of leading lawyers, tax specialists and wealth managers based in Scotland. They focus on the needs of private individuals, owners and managers or land and charities. Their multi-disciplinary team of lawyers, tax planners, investment managers and financial planners work together out of their offices in Edinburgh, London and Guernsey to provide clients with all the services they need under one roof.


The Friends of the RSA
Lyon and Turnbull
Thistly Cross Cider
Artemis Investment Managers