The Royal Scottish Academy is an independent membership-led organisation.

The membership comprises 120 Academicians elected by their peers, every September, in the disciplines of art and architecture. The Academy also elects Honorary Academicians who are eminent in the arts or distinguished in the promotion of art and architecture. 


The most senior decision-making body is the Assembly of Academicians. The President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected every three years and together form the Standing Committee which meets once a month to deal with routine business. The Council comprises the President, Secretary and Treasurer and ten other members elected in rotation. The Council is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Academy. In addition, there is also an Exhibitions Committee which is responsible for the programme and a General Purposes Committee that oversees the RSA Collection and the allocation of awards.

  • President, Gareth Fisher


    Gareth Fisher

    Gareth Fisher PRSA is an artist renowned for his work in sculpture, construction and watercolour painting. 


    Fisher has exhibited extensively both nationally and internationally throughout his career. In the early 1980s Fisher was appointed Lecturer at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art, Dundee. He held the position of Head of Undergraduate Studies in Fine Art, ultimately becoming Professor of Sculpture. 

    In 2003 Fisher was elected an Associate of the Royal Scottish Academy. Becoming a full Academician in 2006, he has played an important role in various RSA committees and served as Treasurer from 2013 to 2016.


    Find out more about Gareth Fisher

  • Treasurer, Delia Baillie RSA


    Delia Baillie RSA

    Delia Baillie RSA is an artist based in Dundee whose work straddles the boundaries between figuration and abstraction. Using collage, painting and printmaking as her principal media, Baillie's recent work exploits the qualities of water-based paints to create tension and movement in her compositions. 


    Baillie is a lecturer at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, Dundee. She has been the recipient of several high-profile residencies and bursaries including the RSA John Kinross Scholarship and the Alastair Salvesen Travelling Scholarship. Baillie was elected an Acadamician in 2008.


    Find out more about Delia Baillie 

  • Secretary , Edward Summerton RSA


    Edward Summerton RSA

    Edward Summerton RSA is an artist whose practice spans painting, sculpture, print, film, sound and performance. He has exhibited in solo and group exhibitions throughout the UK, Europe, North America, Australia and South Korea. He has work in private collections throughout the world and in public collections that range from the BBC to the Museum of Modern Art, New York.


    Summerton is Senior Lecturer and Researcher at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, Dundee. He is also a founding member of the band District Nurse; a warden at the Strict Nature Reserve; a member of the Armchair Mountaineering and Club; and Bothy Convenor for the Angus Cycling Club. He was elected an Academician in 2005.


    Find out more about Eddie Summerton