189th RSA Annual Exhibition

RSA Upper and Lower Galleries
£5 / £3 (includes exhibition catalogue)
Free entry on Fridays (catalogue £3)


The RSA Annual Exhibition is a focal point of the RSA programme and showcases work from RSA Academicians the length and breadth of Scotland. Now in it's 189th year, it continues to provide a platform for contemporary paintings, sculpture, film, printmaking, photography and installation alongside work by some of the country's leading architects.


This year's convenor is Alan Robb RSA, who has curated a themed aspect within this major exhibition entitled Realised.


Realised: This year's curation of invited members and guest artists are all concerned with different kinds of image making and could be described as 'imagists with attitude'. Drawings, paintings prints and sculpture reflect on, war, religion and myth, on folk culture,  consumerism and the environment, on the joy of life and inevitability of death. These are masters of their Art and each is aware of a historical tradition which informs individual practice. To underline this point, an earlier curation entitled 'I live Now' has been reassembled and  enlarged to include a number of works from the RSA collection, from The University of Dundee and Dundee's McManus Galleries with paintings by James Cowie and Edward Burra. Realised represents living artists from three generations. The age range covers six decades. - Alan Robb RSA, Convenor.


Invited Artists: Valerio Adami, Clare Andrews, John Byrne RSA, James Castle RSA, Peter Collins RSA, Antony Donaldson, David Evans RSA, Jo Fan RSA, Ronald Forbes RSA, Alexander Fraser RSA, Derrick Guild RSA, Alexander Guy, Ian Howard RSA, Kenny Hunter RSA, Jonny Lyons, Alan Macdonald, Neil McPherson RSA, Gordon Mitchell RSA, Heather Nevay, Alan Robb RSA, Julie Roberts, Michael Sandle RA , Ian Charles Scott, Ruth Stiven, Elaine Wilson and Adrian Wiszniewski RSA.


Works by recent RSA award winners will be exhibited including new work by Alicia Bruce - the recipient of the 2014 RSA Morton Award for Lens-based work, John Kellock - the recipient of the 2014 RSA William Littlejohn Award and Alice Hoskins - the recipient of the 2014 RSA Barns-Graham Travel Award. There will be memorial works for Kathryn Findlay RSA Elect, Alan Davie HRSA, Sir Anthony Wheeler PPRSA and Andrew Macmillan RSA.


We are grateful for the support of The Friends of the Royal Scottish Academy and to NB Gin for the Exhibition Preview.