RSA Barns-Graham Travel Award: Deadline for 2022 has passed

  • About

    Richard Goldsworthy, Palace Walls


    The RSA Barns-Graham Travel Award (£2,000) provides a travel and research opportunity for graduating and postgraduate students. Funded by the Barns-Graham Charitable Trust and administered by the Royal Scottish Academy, the award consists of:

    • Funding for a period of research and development for a new body of work
    • Exhibition of selected completed work at the Royal Scottish Academy in 2023/24
    • Acquisition of work into the RSA Permanent Collection; ‘A Recognised Collection of National Significance to Scotland’
  • Eligibility

    Paige Silverman, Vogel’s Nest, steel and black paint


    • Entrants must be painters, printmakers or sculptors.
    • Entrants must either be graduating in 2022 or currently studying at postgraduate level at one of the following art schools in Scotland: Gray's School of Art, Aberdeen, Duncan of Jordanstone Collage of Art, Dundee, Edinburgh Collage of Art, Glasgow School of Art, and University of the Highlands and Islands.


    The deadline for entry to this year's award has now passed.

    The winners for 2022 are Guendalina Rota and Charlotte Maishman.



  • Previous winners

    Guendalina Rota and Charlotte Maishman, Intimate Immensity, 2021, porcelain gestures on steel, with projection mapped light animation 

    Previous winners

    • Guendalina Rota and Charlotte Maishman 2022
    • Paige Silverman 2021
    • Natasha Jensen 2020
    • Richard Goldsworthy 2019
    • Shipei Wang 2018
    • Shine Christensen 2017
    • Mina Heydari-Waite 2016
    • Tim Sandys 2015
    • Alice Hoskins 2014
    • Gabriele Jogelaite 2013
    • Madeline Mackay 2012
    • Aleksandra Zawada 2011
    • Geri Loup Nolan 2010
    • Martin Hill 2009
    • Gemma Saville 2008
    • Mair Hughes 2007
    • Margaret Bathgate 2006
  • About Wilhelmina Barns-Graham CBE HRSA

    Aleksandra Zawada, YUE III (Minjun)

    About Wilhelmina Barns-Graham CBE HRSA

    Wilhelmina Barns-Graham HRSA was born in 1912 in St Andrews, Fife. After attending Edinburgh College of Art (1932-37) she moved to St. Ives in 1940, quickly becoming part of the group which included Ben Nicholson and Barbara Hepworth. She was a founder member of the Penwith Society. She travelled regularly over the next 20 years – Switzerland, Italy, Paris, and Spain. With the exception of a short teaching term at Leeds School of Art (1956 – 57) and three years in London (1960 – 63) she lived and worked in St Ives with regular stays in St Andrews where, in 1992, she received an Honorary Doctorate from the University. In 1999 she was elected an honorary member of the Royal Scottish Academy and The Royal Scottish Society of Painters in Watercolour (RSW); she also received Honorary Doctorates from the Universities of Plymouth and Exeter and in 2001 she was awarded CBE. Her paintings can be found in public collections throughout the UK including the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, Arts Council of Great Britain, British Museum, the Tate Gallery, Victoria and Albert Museum, Leeds and Manchester City Art Galleries.


    For further information visit The Barns-Graham Charitable Trust website.


    Banner image: Shipei Wang, I hear of nothing but a high-pitched screaming silence (detail), acrylic
  • Return to Opportunities