Christopher Le Brun is a painter, printmaker and sculptor. Born in Portsmouth in 1951 he trained at the Slade and Chelsea Schools of Art, London. In his early career, he was a double prize winner at the John Moores exhibitions, 1978 & 1980, also showing in the Venice Biennale, 1982, and the ground-breaking Zeitgeist at the Martin-Gropius Bau, Berlin 1982.


He is represented by galleries in London and New York, has exhibited extensively worldwide. His work can be found in museum collections including Tate, London; Museum of Modern Art, New York; British Museum, London; Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney; Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York; Victoria & Albert Museum, London; Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, Edinburgh; The Whitworth, Manchester and Yale Center for British Art, New Haven. Public sculpture can be found at Threadneedle Walk, London; the Museum of London, and Castle Quay, St Helier.


He served as a trustee of Tate 1990-1995, The National Gallery 1996-2003, Dulwich Picture Gallery 2000-2005 and as a founding trustee of the Royal Drawing School 2003-2016. He is currently a trustee of the National Portrait Gallery.


He was elected the first Professor of Drawing at the Royal Academy in 2000, where since 2011 he has been the President, the 26th since Sir Joshua Reynolds, and the youngest to be elected since Lord Leighton in 1878.