RSA William Littlejohn Award: Deadline has passed for 2023

  • About

    Lindsay Sekulowicz, Jogo


    The RSA William Littlejohn Award (£2000) for Excellence and Innovation in Water-based media. Funded by The William Littlejohn Bequest and administered by the Royal Scottish Academy, the award consists of:

    • A monetary award to research, develop and produce a new body of work in a water-based medium
    • An exhibition of selected completed work at the Royal Scottish Academy at a future date
    • Acquisition of work into the RSA Permanent Collection; ‘A Recognised Collection of National Significance to Scotland’
  • Eligibility

    Paul Westcombe, No News from the Sun, watercolour ink pen on paper cup


    • Entrants must be working in water-based media (any pigment mixed with water).
    • Entrants must either be born in Scotland or have been resident in Scotland for at least 3 years.
    • In the case of students applying, entrants must either be graduating in 2023 or currently studying at postgraduate level at one of the following art schools in Scotland - Gray's School of Art, Aberdeen, Duncan of Jordanstone Collage of Art, Dundee, Edinburgh Collage of Art, Glasgow School of Art, and University of the Highlands and Islands.
    • For full Conditions of Entry and to apply click below.


    How to apply

    • Applications are made online through Submittable.
    • The deadline has now passed for 2023. Please check back in early summer 2024 for the next round of applications.

    We are pleased to announce Lindsay Sekulowicz is the winner for 2023.

    Lindsay will use the funds to further her research into the ethnobotany and indigenous narratives of the northwest Amazon, exploring the role of art practice in knowledge exchange through a series of new watercolours and colour studies.

  • Previous Winners

    Kyle Noble, Meditations from the Malachite Glen

    Previous Winners

    • Lindsay Sekulowicz, 2023
    • Rosalind Lawless, 2022
    • Samantha Clark, 2021
    • John Brown, 2020
    • Sam Drake, 2019
    • Amy Dennis, 2018
    • Alasdair Wallace, 2017
    • Frances Rokhlin, 2016
    • Catherine Ross, 2015
    • John Kellock, 2014
    • Kyle Noble, 2013
    • Anne Murray, 2012
    • Paul Westcombe, 2011
    • Jean Duncan, 2010
    • Laura Sutherland, 2009


    Banner image: Amy Dennis, Still Life with Cast Objects
  • Return to Opportunities