RSA 183rd Annual Exhibition 2009

RSA Upper & Lower Galleries

Admission £4 / £2 Conc.


The RSA Annual Exhibition is a highlight of the exhibiting year and features RSA Academicians and selected submissions from leading and emerging artists from across Scotland, as well as a number of specially invited artists and architects. This year's exhibition convenor is John Byrne RSA. The exhibition showcases around 350 works across all 12 RSA Galleries and includes painting, sculpture, film making, photography, printmaking, architecture and installation. There are over £4,000 worth of prizes and opportunities awarded to artists. Most works will be for sale.


The invited artists are Annie Cattrell, Sandy Stoddart; Helen Flockhart; Peter Thomson and Chris Orr RA. We are also delighted to present projects from a number of distinguished architects including Studio8 Architects; Studio Egret West; Foster + Partners; Zaha Hadid; RMJM; GM+AD Architects; Sutherland Hussey Architects; Reiach and Hall Architects; Gareth Hoskins Architects; Elder & Cannon Architects Limited and JM Architects.


The exhibition will also present new works by three RSA award winners from the last year. Rory Donaldson is a Scottish artist currently based in New York and has been commissioned to make new photographic works for the exhibition as part of the RSA Morton Award. Gemma Saville, RSA Barns-Graham Travel Award winner and Laura Sutherland, winner of the first RSA William Littlejohn Watercolour Award will also exhibit new work.


There will be a complementary show in the RSA Library called HOMECOMING: Past Masters, Depictions of Scottish History from the RSA Collections which examines the way in which our heritage was of particular fascination to Scottish artists in the late 18th and 19th centuries.


There will also be gallery tours, artist talks, meet the artists evenings and associated events to encourage the public to get involved and learn more about the art/artists in the show. This range of activities will be hosted by the Friends of the Royal Scottish Academy.