Congratulations to all award winners and thank you to all pupils who took part in this year’s Schools Art Award. Sadly there will be no exhibition or Awards Ceremony this year due to Covid-19, however we are delighted to exhibiting all the winning works online HERE. All works have now been returned to the schools and certificates and prizes will be sent by 1 April.  


New Entrant
Junior – Gracie Gaughan (Leith Academy)
Intermediate – Emma Mitchell (Graeme High School)
Senior-Ciaran Stewart (Stewart’s Melville College)

Special School   
1st – Abbey Dunbar (Stanecastle School)
2nd – Dillan Martin (Langlands School)
3rd – Matthew Bowman (Abercorn Secondary School)

Brodies Inspirational Art Department Award – Denny High School

Brodies Regional Award North
Junior – Molly McLachlan (Kinlochleven High School)
Intermediate – Eva Campbell (Dollar Academy)
Senior – Leah Morrison (The Gordon School)

Brodies Regional Award West  
Junior – Damiana Colangelo (Hamilton College)
Intermediate – Beth Pyott (St Joseph’s Academy)
Senior – Arabella Sciallo (Strathaven Academy)

Brodies Regional Award East/South  
Junior –  Campell  Bryce  (Sanquhar Academy)
Intermediate  – Cameron  Carvill  (Eyemouth High School)
Senior  – Jodie Barnes (St Thomas of Aquin’s RC High School)

1st  – Christian Lindsay  (Loretto School)
2nd –  Anna Harcke  (George Heriot’s School)
3rd  – Arthur Ellis (Stewart’s Melville College)

1st  – Amy McLean (Madras College)
2nd –  Matthew Dunn (Lomond School)
3rd – Flora MacRae (Loretto School)

1st – Keara Koteruras (Broughton High School)
2nd – Amy Kane (Mallaig High School)
3rd – Aidan McCallum (Auchmuty High School)

Chairman’s Challenge  
1st – Eva Magdic Govedarica (Dollar Academy)
2nd – Heather Nicholson (Mallaig High School)
3rd – Kyle Wilkinson (Speyside Academy)


Highly Commended

Junior Intermediate Senior
Laura Murdoch Bannerman High School Lar Layton Loretto School Isabelle Bowen Knox Academy
Zoe Campbell Loretto School Sophie Cameron Kinlochleven High School Eve Smith Knox Academy
Katie Allen St Andrews & St Brides HS Jonathan Padilla St Joseph’s Academy Justin French St Thomas of Aquin’s RC HS
Hugh Mulvihill Loretto School Hollie Austin Knox Academy Pheobe Shirazi Hamilton College
Amber Brodie Wellington School Liam Floyd Lomond High School Jodie Daynes Kinlochleven High School
Nina MacDonald Hutchesons’ Grammar School Thomas Cowan Stewart’s Melville College Liam Golecki Knox Academy
Blair Thomson The Gordon Schools Esther Leong Hutchesons Grammar Maddy Mackay Broughton High School
Lewis O’Neill St Peter the Apostle HS Mariana Moreira St Thomas of Aquins’s RC HS Stefan Stankiewicz Robert Gordon’s College
Harry Nuttal Hamilton College Willow Lagan Taylor Charleston Academy Katie Aspinall George Heriot’s School
Jamie Anderson George Heriot’s School Michelle Lin Denny High School Connor Ord Linlithglow Academy
Charley Bennet Holy Cross High School Murray Kilgour George Heriot’s School Zoe Anderson Clydeview Academy
Yasmin Hall Auchmuty High School Emma Mitchell George Heriot’s  School Marshall Kennedy Hazlehead Academy
Tom Jacob St Andrews & St Brides HS Harry Stokes St Thomas of Aquins’s RC HS Conrad Annesley George Heriot’s School
Antonia Johnson Sanquhar Academy Melannie Ellis Holy Cross High School Nathan Docherty Clydeview Academy
Cayla Flinter Bellshill Academy Liam Clark Broughton High School Melissa Zoanowilz St Matthew’s Academy
Olivia Price Kinlochleven High School Maya Hossain St Thomas of Aquins’s RC HS Amelia Qureshi Lomond School
Ewan Emslie Bannerman High School Mia Ferguson Hamilton College Deborah Deekae Dollar Academy
Aaryan Hirani Stewart’s Melville College Sandra Mao Loretto School Ciara Waugh Denny High School
Ailsa Janzen Kinlochleven High School Elspeth Ogilvy Loretto School Muna Nweke Strathallen School
Jenna Robertson Campbeltown Grammar School Ela Herdman Carrick Academy Laura Pumford Dollar Academy
Special Schools
Jack Thomson Craigmarloch School
Terrence Randall Mary Russell School
Jordan Young Stanecastle School

About the Schools Art Award
The Art Award has been running since 1986 and is considered by teachers to be one of the most prestigious awards made to pupils. The Award has no theme. The emphasis is on skills of technique, observation and interpretation. In particular, the judges will award prizes for work which displays creativity and originality.

Junior (S1 & S2)
Intermediate (S3 & S4)
Senior (S5 & S6)

Five judges, including the President of the RSA, will award:
First prize of £250, second prize of £150 and
third prize of £100 in each category.
Highly Commended Certificates awarded to 20 entries in each category.

The Chairmen’s Challenge
Prizes £300, £150 and £100. Category S5 & S6. Further details

New Entrant Awards
A special award of £250 in each category for the best entry from schools that have not participated before, or within, the last five years.

Brodies Special Schools Award
First prize of £250, second prize of £150 and third prize of £100. Category S1-S6. Further details

Brodies Inspirational Art & Design Department Award
£1,000 awarded to support the most deserving and inspirational project. Further details

Brodies Regional Awards
Prizes of £150 awarded to the best entry in each category from the regions: north, west, and south-east.

All schools who do not feature in the list of prize winners will be entered into a draw giving them the chance to receive: A free half-day art workshop in their school with a leading young Scottish artist. Successful schools will be contacted soon after the Entry Deadline to finalise arrangements.

Contact for any enquiries: Sheena Walker
T: 0131 225 392