RSA Morton Award: Deadline for 2022 has now passed

  • About

    Sekai Machache, The Devine Sky


    The RSA Morton Award (£5,000) is for artists working in a lens-based media in Scotland. The award is funded by The Morton Charitable Trust and administered by the Royal Scottish Academy and consists of:

    • A monetary award to research, develop and produce a new body of work in a lens-based medium
    • An exhibition of selected completed work at the Royal Scottish Academy at a future date
    • Acquisition of work into the RSA Permanent Collection; ‘A Recognised Collection of National Significance to Scotland’
  • Eligibility

    Alicia Bruce, Sim Man


    • Artists must be working in a lens-based media (includes digital & analogue photography, film and video)
    • Artists must have either been born in Scotland, have studied at a Scottish art school, or been resident in Scotland for at least 3 years
    • Current undergraduate or postgraduate students are not eligible


    The deadline for 2022 has now passed. We are delighted to announce this years winner is Flannery O'Kafka.

  • Previous Winners

    Rory Donaldson, sqtimeusa

    Previous Winners

    • Flannery O'Kafka 2022
    • Oana Stanciu 2021
    • Sekai Machache 2020
    • Daniel Cook 2019
    • John Wallace 2018
    • Mairi Lafferty 2017
    • Paul Duke 2016
    • Gair Dunlop 2015
    • Alicia Bruce 2014
    • Oliver Mezger 2013
    • ROGER + REID 2012
    • Paul Rooney 2011
    • Christine Borland 2010
    • Phillip Braham 2009
    • Rory Donaldson 2008
    • Leena Nammari 2007
    • Alexander & Susan Maris 2006


    Banner image: Daniel Cook, Garoosk