RSA ANNUAL EXHIBITION: Including The Artist’s Studio

Opening Times:
Monday to Saturday 10am – 5pm Sunday 12noon – 5pm Admission: £5/ £2 con

RSA ANNUAL EXHIBITION: Including The Artist’s Studio

Opening Times:
Monday to Saturday 10am – 5pm Sunday 12noon – 5pm Admission: £5/ £2 con

For a 360° panorama of the show click here.
Please use your mouse to scroll around the gallery.

RSA Annual Exhibition Talks & Events – please click here.

Now in it’s 186th year, the RSA Annual Exhibition is a highlight of the exhibiting year and features RSA Academicians and selected submissions from leading and emerging artists from across Scotland, as well as a number of specially invited artists and architects. This year’s convenors are Doug Cocker RSA and James Castle RSA (acting as joint convenors) and Ric Russell RSA (Elect) as deputy convener.

The theme of this year’s show is The Artist’s Studio and features twenty-two invited artists selected by the convenors from the RSA membership, the broader Scottish arts community and beyond. Invited artists will present a significant body of work to the exhibition, utilising key areas in the gallery space. Non-invited RSA members are invited to submit up to four works via an open submission policy. Works by the winners of RSA Morton, Barns Graham and Littlejohn awards will also be on display, plus further curated works from the RSA Collections.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a full colour publication and most works will be available for purchase. The RSA is part of the Own Art scheme, offering interest-free credit to buy contemporary art.

The invited artists are:
Michael Agnew RSA
Mary Bourne
James Castle RSA
Annie Cattrell
Doug Cocker RSA
Bill Crozier
Steve Dilworth
Lennox Dunbar
Paul Furneaux RSA
Neville Gabie
Neil Gall
Derrick Guild
Gwen Hardie
Ian Howard RSA
Rosalind Lawless
Patricia Leighton
Stuart McKenzie
Bill Scott PPRSA
Michael Visocchi RSA
Arthur Watson RSA
Kate Whiteford RSA
Aeneas Wilder

The Invited Architects are:
Eighty Seven Ltd
Fergus Purdie
Gokay Devici
Kengo Kuma
MJ Long
Neil Gillespie
Olsen Kundig
Steven Holl

The exhibition will also present new works by three RSA award winners from the last year. Paul Rooney will present new works for the exhibition as part of the RSA Morton Award. Aleksandra Zawada, RSA Barns-Graham Travel Award winner and Paul Westcombe, winner of the RSA William Littlejohn Watercolour Award will also exhibit new work.

The Royal Scottish Academy would like to gratefully acknowledge all of our sponsors and supporters of the RSA Annual Exhibition

Principal Sponsor: Turcan Connell
The exhibition of is kindly sponsored by Turcan Connell. Turcan Connell is a firm of leading lawyers, tax specialists and wealth managers based in Scotland. They focus on the needs of private individuals, owners and managers or land and charities. Their multi-disciplinary team of lawyers, tax planners, investment managers and financial planners work together out of their offices in Edinburgh, London and Guernsey to provide clients with all the services they need under one roof.

The Friends of the RSA

Lyon and Turnbull


Thistly Cross Cider

Artemis Investment Managers

Image Credits: The studio of Bill Scott RSA President, Annie Cattrell, Rosalind lawless, Steve Dilworth, Neil Gall, Mary Bourne, Bill Crozier, Neville Gabie, Lennox Dunbar, Michael Agnew & David Blyth

The Royal Scottish Academy of Art & Architecture
All Galleries
The Mound

  • lyon & turnbull
  • thistly_cross
  • turcan_connell
  • friends