The deadline for this opportunity has now passed for 2019.

The RSA William Littlejohn Award (£2000) for Excellence and Innovation in Water-based media. The award is funded by The William Littlejohn Bequest and administered by the Royal Scottish Academy and consists of:

  • Monetary award to research, develop and produce a new body of work in a water-based medium
  • Exhibition of completed work at the Royal Scottish Academy Annual Exhibition in 2020.
  • Acquisition of work into the prestigious RSA Permanent Collections.
  • Entrants must be working in water-based media (any pigment mixed with water).
  • Entrants must be born or have been resident in Scotland for at least 3 years.
  • In the case of students applying, entrants must either be graduating in 2019 or currently studying at postgraduate level at one of the following art schools in Scotland (Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, and UHI).
  • Entry conditions and requirements must be strictly adhered to or applications may be rejected.
  • The decision of the adjudicators is final and no correspondence can be entered into
  • The award should not be used as a capital grant.
  • The award winner will be announced by end of September 2019.
  • The award should be completed by 1 April 2020.
  • The winner will exhibit resulting work in the RSA Annual Exhibition the following year in consultation with the Academy. Further arrangements will be determined in consultation with the winner.
  • The Royal Scottish Academy reserves the right to accession one representative work from the artist into the RSA Permanent Collection.
  • The copyright of all works remain with the artist but it is a condition of entry that the Royal Scottish Academy reserves the right of reproduction of all submitted and resultant works for publicity/educational/reference purposes in connection with the award.
  • Personal information supplied by applicants on registration/application forms will be held securely by the Royal Scottish Academy in accordance with the Data Protection Act, 1998.

Sam Drake 2019
Amy Dennis 2018
Alasdair Wallace 2017
Frances Rokhlin 2016
Catherine Ross 2015
John Kellock 2014
Kyle Noble 2013
Anne Murray 2012
Paul Westcombe 2011
Jean Duncan 2010
Laura Sutherland 2009