Deadline for 2018 has now passed – check back in early 2019 for more details


The RSA Morton Award (£5,000) is for artists working in a lens-based media in Scotland. The award is funded by The Morton Charitable Trust and administered by the Royal Scottish Academy and consists of:

  • Monetary award to research, develop and produce a new body of work in a lens-based medium
  • Exhibition of completed work at the RSA Annual Exhibition in 2019
  • Acquisition of work into the RSA Permanent Collection; ‘A Recognised Collection of National Significance to Scotland’.


  • Artists must be working in a lens-based media (includes digital & analogue photography, film and video)
  • Artists must have been born in Scotland or have studied at a Scottish art school or have been resident in Scotland for at least 3 years.
  • Undergraduate or postgraduate students are not eligible.


  • Entry conditions and requirements must be strictly adhered to or applications may be rejected.
  • A shortlist of artists will be invited to present their project to the Panel of Adjudicators at the RSA on Friday 10 August 2018.
  • The decision of the adjudicators is final and no correspondence can be entered into.
  • The award should not be used as a capital grant.
  • The award winner will be announced by the end of September 2018.
  • The award should be completed by 1 April 2019.
  • The winner will exhibit resulting work at the RSA Annual Exhibition the following year in consultation with the Academy. Further arrangements will be determined in consultation with the winner.
  • The Royal Scottish Academy reserves the right to accession one representative work or DVD from the artist into the RSA Permanent Collection.
  • The copyright of all works remain with the artist but it is a condition of entry that the Royal Scottish Academy reserves the right of reproduction of all submitted and resultant works for publicity/educational/reference purposes in connection with the award.
  • Personal information supplied by applicants on registration/application forms will be held securely by the Royal Scottish Academy in accordance with the Data Protection Act, 1998.



John Wallace 2018

Mairi Lafferty 2017

Paul Duke 2016

Gair Dunlop 2015

Alicia Bruce 2014

Oliver Mezger 2013


Paul Rooney 2011

Christine Borland 2010

Phillip Braham 2009

Rory Donaldson 2008

Leena Nammari 2007

Alexander & Susan Maris 2006