Deadline: Sunday 23 January 2022, Midnight.

The RSA Residencies for Scotland is an artist-led scheme which provides valuable research and residency opportunities for artists. It forges important networks with centres of artistic excellence across Scotland, ranging from traditional residency venues to specialised production facilities.

Open to visual artists at all stages of their careers, the emphasis is on enabling a period of research, development and production, as well as on the acquisition and exchange of new skills and experiences. Artists can apply for funds of up to £5,000 and are responsible for managing their own residency, in discussion with the partner venue(s).

Our partner venues all have a long history of offering quality development to, and presentation opportunities for, contemporary artists. For many their expertise and longevity has formed the backbone of artist practice in Scotland for decades. Exhibition opportunities may be available at the RSA or through links with the partner venues and their own exhibition facilities or networks.

The Royal Scottish Academy of Art & Architecture is an independently funded institution whose purpose is to promote and support the visual arts in Scotland. The programme is administered and funded by the RSA, with kind support from the RSA Friends and The Wilhelmina Barns-Graham Charitable Trust. Launched in 2009, the project is now offered on a biennial basis.

Aims of the residency programme:

  • To enable artists a period of research, development and production
  • To reinforce links with centres of excellence across Scotland
  • To provide access to technical expertise and assistance to learn new skills and techniques.
  • To enable the exchange of ideas and practice


2019 Winners

Christine Borland (Deveron Projects), Victoria Bernie (RSA Collections), Madeleine Brown (Cove Park), Annie Cattrell (An Lanntair), Flora DeBechi (North Lands Creative and Taigh Chearsabhagh), Joel Dixon (Street Level Photoworks), Rachel Duckhouse (Glasgow Print Studio and Taigh Chearsabhagh), Flore Gardner (Edinburgh Printmakers), Audrey Grant (Cromarty Arts Trust), Ashanti Harris (Scottish Sculpture Workshop), Hannah Imlach (Peacock Visual Arts), Frank McElhinney (An Cridhe), James McKenzie & Daniel O’Dempsey (Pier Arts Centre), Robert Powell (WASPS, Shetland), Tim Sandys (An Cridhe), Bruce Shaw (Bothy Project, Cairngorms), Becky Sik (Bothy Project, Eigg), Oana Stanciu (An Talla Solais and Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop).