The Royal Scottish Academy (RSA) is an independent membership-led organisation.
The membership comprises of 111 Academicians from the disciplines of Art and Architecture. The Academy has also appointed 30 Honorary Members, including HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

The most senior decision-making body is the Assembly of Academicians. The President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected annually and together form the Standing Committee which meets once a month to deal with routine business. The Council comprises the President, Secretary and Treasurer and 10 other members selected in rotation. The Council is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Academy. In addition, there is also an Exhibitions and Events Committee which is responsible for the RSA Programme and a General Purposes Committee whose function is to oversee such activities as the RSA Collection and the allocation of awards. The above Committees normally meet every two months.

RSA President: Arthur Watson PRSA
RSA Secretary: Marion Smith RSA
RSA Treasurer: Gareth Fisher RSA

The decision-making structure of the Academy is as follows :-